Deadline: May 2, annually
university: Study in any member country except your own
country: All Countries World Bank
World Bank scholarship
type: PhD
course: any subject

fund: Partial Funding / Limited support Funding up to $25,000 to conduct Ph.D. research.

Scholarship Description:
World Bank scholarship -The Robert S. McNamara Fellowships Program is funded by World Bank for World Bank Member. The World Bank scholarship allows a Ph.D. level program(s) in the field of any subject taught at Study in any member country except your own. The deadline for the scholarship is May 2, annually

This is a wonderful opportunity for the most promising developing nation researchers to advance their doctoral work with the best international advisors and host institutions in their fields of study.

RSMFP was established in 1982 with $2.8 million in funding from the World Bank and the governments of Bangladesh, China, India, Kuwait, Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, and former Yugoslavia.

Degree Level: The World Bank scholarship is Available for Ph.D. degree only

Available Subjects: Conduct Ph.D. research on a development topic

Scholarship Benefits: Funding up to $25,000 to conduct Ph.D. research.

RSMFP provides up to $25,000 (U.S.) for developing country nationals to travel abroad to conduct development-related Ph.D. research under the supervision of a host advisor at a university, research, or development institution in a World Bank member country. The Scholarship covers a 6 to 10 month period. Details on eligible expenditures are provided in the Application Guidelines.

Where you can Study?: In a World Bank member country other than the Fellow’s home country or country of residence.

Eligible Nationalities: The Robert S. McNamara Fellowships Program (RSMFP) provides support to developing country citizens (.xlsx) who are current Ph.D. candidates studying in developing countries.

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Rep., Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep. of, Congo, Rep. of, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Rep., Ecuador, Egypt, Arab Rep., El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati. Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho. Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, FYR of, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, F. S., Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts, and Nevis, St. Lucia, St.Vincent & the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Rep. Bol. De, Vietnam, Yemen, Republic of, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Eligibility Criteria for World Bank scholarship:

Applicants must meet the following criteria to be eligible for a fellowship award:

• Be a national of a World Bank member country that is eligible to receive World Bank financing

• Not be a dual citizen of any country that is not eligible to receive World Bank financing.

• Be enrolled at the time you submit your application in a Ph.D. program in a World Bank member country that is eligible to receive World Bank financing.

• While enrolled in a Ph.D. program, have been residing in a World Bank member country that is eligible to receive World Bank financing.

• Have completed all coursework and exams required by your Ph.D. program at the time you submit your application.

• Be 35 years or younger on the Application Deadline date.

• On or after the date the call for RSMFP applications opens, not be an Executive Director, his/her alternate, and/or staff of any type of appointment (including temporary and consultant) of the World Bank Group (The World Bank, International Development Association, International Finance Corporation, Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency, and International Center for Settlements of Investment Disputes); nor be a close relative of the aforementioned by blood or adoption with the term “close relative” defined as: Mother, Father, Sister, Half-sister, Brother, Half-brother, Son, Daughter, Aunt, Uncle, Niece, or Nephew.

• Not previously been the recipient of a fellowship from RSMFP.

• At the time of the RSMFP application submission, be accepted as a visiting scholar for a period of six to ten months that will start sometime between September and December 2019 by a university or research institution in a World Bank member country other than your country of citizenship and, if applicable, other than a developing country in which you currently reside.

• At the time of your RSMFP application submission, your research proposal for RSMFP funding is endorsed by your Ph.D. Thesis Supervisor and your Host Institution Research Advisor.

• Plan and be able to begin the RSMFP fellowship between September 2021 and November 2021.

• Plan and be able to complete your proposed RSMFP-funded fellowship research within a 6 to a 10-month period from the start date of your RSMFP fellowship

Selection Process:

The RSMFP uses the following process to review completed applications, with the aim to identify eligible candidates with the most innovative and relevant research proposals in the area of development.

Two qualified reviewers independently review each eligible application to assess the following:

  1. Quality of the proposed fellowship (70%)
  2. Prospects for a productive career in research on development post-PhD (30%)

Information provided by your Ph.D. thesis supervisor and your host institution research advisor is particularly important elements of your application.

The World Bank Robert S. McNamara Secretariat uses the average score of the two reviewers and the following other aspects to select the finalists:

  • Maintaining a reasonably wide geographical distribution of awards;
  • Maintaining a reasonable distribution of awards across gender;
  • Giving fellowships to those applicants who, other things equal, appear to have limited financial resources;
  • Giving preference to applicants currently employed as lecturers or researchers at an academic or research institution in a member developing country of the World Bank;
  • Giving preference to applicants who have not received a JJ/WBGSP scholarship for a master’s degree program.

The finalists are presented to the World Bank Robert S. McNamara Steering Committee (composed of some members of the World Bank Board of Directors and WB management) for final review and selection of the winners of the award. The RSMFP Secretariat notifies the public on this website that the selection is made and individually informs the winners of the Fellowship.

Application procedure:

Applications will be received online at the official website. The deadline is 2 May annually.

It is important to read the application guidelines and visit the official website (link found below) to access the application form and for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

Scholarship Link