South Africa Canon Collins Scholarships 2022 for Postgraduate Study

South Africa Canon Collins Scholarships 2022 for Postgraduate Study

Canon Collins Trust opens South Africa Canon Collins Scholarships 2020 and invites applications from students from Southern Africa 

Application Deadline: 19th August 2022 at 17:00

Offered annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe

About the Award: Canon Collins Trust seeks to support exceptional individuals who are committed to social justice in Southern Africa and for whom a postgraduate qualification is an essential tool in working to create an open and just society.

In 2015 the Trust revised its South African scholarship awards policy. For the next 3 years we will be offering scholarships only to those studying in three areas:

  1. Justice, which includes Law, Economics, Politics, and the Environment
  2. Education: policy and practice
  3. Humanities, which includes Literature, History, Anthropology, and the Arts

Applications for courses that are not within these areas (for example MBAs, medical sciences, sports sciences, and applied sciences) will be rejected.

Type: Masters, PhD

Selection CriteriaApplicants for all schemes will be assessed on the basis of the information that they supply on their application form in addition to the criteria outlined below:

  • Demonstrable leadership qualities
  • Demonstrated commitment
  • Quality and relevance of work experience, including work reference, and other skills
  • Financial Need and the potential to contribute to Southern Africa’s future prosperity
  • Academic record and academic reference
  • Relevance of proposed course
  • Intended career path
  • Likely future impact
  • Completion of the form:
    • Demonstrate a high standard of English with no spelling or language errors
    • Answer all of the questions fully and with attention to detail
    • Provide all the necessary documentation and supporting documents.

Eligibility: In addition, to be considered for a scholarship under this program you  must:

  • be a national of, or have refugee status in, one of the following countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe
  • be normally resident in one of the above countries
  • be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division, or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • be studying or applying to study at a South African university

Number of Scholarship: Approximately 20-30 awards

What are the benefits?

  • In 2022, the value of the scholarship package will range from R20,000 to R100,000 depending on student’s circumstances. We support both full and part-time study and will consider applications from those who wish to study by distance learning.
  • We also organize an annual conference for current scholars and hold several smaller events throughout the year. Scholarship holders are expected to participate in these activities and to become part of and contribute to our network.

Eligible applicants will automatically be considered for these named scholarships:

  • Ros Moger and Terry Furlong
  • Sol Plaatje Canon Collins Scholarships.​

How to Apply? Applicants can access the application forms and guidelines on the webpage.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!